News and Notes


Local Hero Award Given to

David Mankamyer of Somerset County


Pictured (L to R):  Len Lichvar, Manager, Somerset County Conservation District; David Mankamyer, Conservation District Director and Local Hero Award Recipient; Matt Knepper, PFPA President

October 2016 - The Pennsylvania Farmland Preservation Association and the American Farmland Trust presented David Mankamyer, Conservation District Director and long time supporter of Somerset Farmland Preservation efforts, with the Local Hero Award.   This award is given annually to individuals who have provided outstanding leadership in the preservation of farmland across Pennsylvania.

# # #

PA Reaches New Milestone of 5,000 Preserved Farms!

Main Image

Click Here for more details and photos.....

# # # 

PA Farmland Preservation Association at

Ag Progress Days - 2016


Special thanks to Sarah Walter, Centre County for handling the set up, tear down and scheduling staffing for the event and to all the County Volunteers that spent time at the station to inform the public about PFPA and the Conservation Easement Program.


 Eric Johnson from teh Lackawanna County Ag Land Preservation Program explains conservation easement with Alissa Woomer, the 2015 Centre County Grange Fair Queen.


(L to R) Ellen Dayhoff, Adams County; Eric Johnson, Lackawanna County and Mark Clowney, Adams County staff the PFPA Booth.

# # #

Local Hero Award Given to

Lehigh County's Director of Farmland Preservation


Pictured (L to R):  Deputy Secretary of Agriculture, Hannah Smith-Brubaker; Donna Fisher Member at Large, Blair County; Doug Wolfgang, Director of Farmland Preservation at PDA; Jeff Zehr, Lehigh County; Ellen Dayhoff, Vice President, Adams County; Matt Knepper, President, Lancaster County; Cindy Kahley, Treasurer, Union County; Sarah Walter, Secretary, Centre County.

 # # #





© 2000-2012 Pennsylvania Farmland Preservation Association. Website development  by KCnet.